Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Positive and Receptive State of Mind

In hopes of helping others make healthy decisions in life I want to share my personal aspirations to be pure and comfortable in my own space.  When you feel happy inside it shows on the outside and you will naturally have an intense propinquity with other people who are content within.

To keep the body in good health is a duty… otherwise we shall not be able to keep our mind strong and clear

~Buddha.

My goal is to write spiritual entries that offer positive thoughts to my readers.  You will see when you gain momentum of happiness, those who feel they are victims of life, incapable of taking control of their happiness; will drop out of your circle.  Take care of yourself and others will notice your natural glow, your desire to be in peace and your will to survive.

Recently, while shopping at Costco, doing my monthly routine I ran into an old friend from high school.  I recognized her and she was quick to smile and start a conversation.  I could sense her immediate attraction to me and her curiosity to know about my life. All within 30 seconds of our meeting, she said, ‘Hey how are you? Wow is that your daughter?  You look so different and thin, what are you doing?’

In reality, I actually weigh more than I did in high school, I just carry myself differently and I have more self confidence.  I spent the last ten years in the gym and have a different body composition to show for it.  I never got surgery or went on a diet, I simply take care of myself, because if I don’t then who will? 

A person who doesn’t breathe deeply reduces the life of his body. If he doesn’t move freely, he restricts the life of his body. If he doesn’t feel fully, he narrows the life of his body. And if his self-expression is constricted, he limits the life of his body

~Alexander Lowen.

I exercise, not just for my physical body, but also for a piece of mind.  At the end of the day, no matter what events occurred, I always feel accomplished.  Even if I never make it to the gym, I find quite time to practice moving meditation, in my home.  My passion for physical strength grants me happiness, positive vibes, fun, energy, focus, and a natural high.  I enjoy functional training and yoga, as it allows me to: challenge myself,  release tension and sometimes anger, take a break,  be alone, compete, satisfy my desires, indulge, be extreme, have pride, take control, be prepared, love myself and finally to appreciate others more.

What spirit is so empty and blind, that it cannot recognize the fact that the foot is more noble than the shoe, and skin more beautiful that the garment with which it is clothed?

  ~Michelangelo.

A work out is not complete without a nutritious meal and hydration. I truly believe nutrition is a way of living; it’s how we nurture our body and mind with fuel we need to survive. Eating whole foods, like fresh fruits and vegetables, grains, and protein help the body replenish energy burned.  It is also important to hydrate your muscles post workout.  I enjoy coconut water and filtered tap water from my handy canteen that I never leave home without. 

From one yogi to another,

The body is your temple.  Keep it pure and clean for the soul to reside in

~B.K.S. Iyengar.

Namaste.